Brief History :

The Department Of Psychology was established in the year 1972 and was partly functioning at Shivaji University Kolhapur only theory lectures were being conducted in Rajaram College Kolhapur. Prof. M. D. Awasti was Head of Department.

An Independent Post Graduate Department was started in Rajaram College, under headship of Dr. V. V. Jogawar, in the year 1979-1980.As this was the only Post Graduate Department in Psychology in the jurisdiction of Shivaji University. This is the only grantable Department in the Shivaji University. At present the subject is taught for 11th to the M. A. degree level. The department is enriched with a number of the teaching and the learning equipments. Departmental laboratory is recognized for research. One student is doing his research work in laboratory. Thirty students are admitted at B.A.III and M.A. level every year. Industrial Psychology specialization is offered for post Graduation. The lectures are conducted by eminent personalities on different subjects. Industry/institutional visits are also arranged by the department.

List of Heads

Name Year
Prof. M. D. Awasti 1972-1979
Dr. V. V. Jogawar 1979-1980
Prof. S.G.Mali 1980-2002
Dr. V. B. Alajapurakar 2002-2006
Dr. A. S. Parit 2006-2015
Prof.Neeta N.Lad 2015- till today