Department of Physics

The establishment of Physics Department dates back to the establishment of illustrious Rajaram College, and the Institution lived up to the idiosyncrasies of the last 125 years. The department was functioning under the roof of old palace – Paga Building and by the year 1934, it was launched at the site of O`Brien Highschool Laxmipuri. Prof. R. K. Shirodkar, was the first Head Of the Department. Prof. B. N. Biswas was the architect of the department accompanied by Prof. Dr. Sengupta, Prof. Raghuveersingh and Prof. Modak. The miraculous efforts of Dr. D.G. Kapadnis, Prof. M. G. Pawar and the faculty brought on the path of progress. In 1971, the department was shifted to the present campus. The faculty was interested in developing a well-trained scientific and technical mind by launching vocational Electronics in 1983 and also Electrical Maintenance. A course in electronics at degree level was started by June 1984. COSIP and NTS activities inherited the efforts to improve the quality of higher education. Shri M. T. Mone, Shri V. T. Gonnagar, Shri T. K. Yadav, Dr. M. R. Rajebhosle and the working team has also contributed in to this department.

For the last three decades the faculty is very much involved in research activities and today the same tradition is being continued by the youngsters.

The Department has been arranging lectures by eminent personalities for the benefit of the students. Campus interviews are annually arranged by the department.

Various activities have been arranged by department of astrology.

Copyright © 2020 Rajaram College, Kolhapur Last Updated on 15th February 2021 Powered By OST